Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that students can access a vast variety of data courtesy of the internet. While I accept that online information has many benefits, I would argue that traditional libraries have advantages to reap as well.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that online information has several clear advantages. First and foremost, the online database can store a huge amount of information without occupying lots of space in comparison to local libraries. This attribute not only does improve the pace of information flow in the world but also provide this opportunity for students to acquire information wherever and whenever they want. For example, Iranian students can download an academic paper, published in the USA, using a laptop far from there. Besides, it is admitted that online libraries are eco-friendly since there is no necessity to cut trees to produce paper in terms of publishing books.

On the other hand, although online information is more popular today, libraries still have credibility among students for the following reasons. Firstly, online resources might not be trustable since it is dead easy to plagiarize on the internet. Therefore, students should always have an eye for finding reliable resources while libraries often provide original papers and books. Secondly, libraries are secluded places that provide a perfect atmosphere for reading while it is almost impossible to read a book precisely in other places without any disturbance.

To conclude, I am convinced that libraries are still one of the valuable places in the world for researching, though online information is easily accessible.