Although sports events are very popular, violence at these events is on the increase. Why is this so? What should authorities do to prevent violence from taking place at sports events?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the time of the Roman Empire mass events including sports have been wildly popular among residents of all continents. The growing popularity of sports events is accompanied by a multiplication of conflicts and the use of violence. This essay will examine the main causes of violence at sporting events and propose possible preventing measures that government should do to solve this problem.

The main reasons for deviant behavior at sports events are alcohol and adrenaline. Fans under the influence of alcohol often commit robberies, pogroms and cause injuries to rival teams. Very often, visitors of sporting events use incendiary mixtures that can cause damage not only to spectators, but also to athletes. For instance, On April 15, 2000, during a match between the Zenit and Dynamo football teams, both sides did not hesitate to use rebar, sticks, stones, flares, and bottles. As a result, Vitaly Petukhov, a 15-year-old from Saint Petersburg, who was at a football match for the first time, was killed during the fight. Hence, a mixture of alcohol and adrenaline can lead to extreme cruelty and even victims.

I strongly believe that the best action to help keep the violence under control is prohibition of alcohol sales in sports venues and monitoring the physical condition of visitors. The authorities can develop regulations according to which the sale of alcohol at sport events will be strengthened by special requirements for the condition of spectators. High demands for the number of security guards and checking personal belongings of visitors can restrict access to the event for aggressive people. For example, in Moscow the ban on the sale of alcohol within two kilometers of stadiums during the Football World Cup - 2018 reduced the number of clashes between fans by ten times.

Summing up, I can confidently say that it is impossible to eliminate conflicts at sports events, since this is a natural reaction of a person to a large release of adrenaline. At the same time, the government can take effective measures to control and reduce the number of such situations and protect the lives of its own citizens and visitors.