Animals should not be used for the benefit of human beings unless there is evidence that the animals do not suffer in any way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Currently, there is a lot of controversy about using animals for human needs. Animal rights activists are trying to stop all modern and traditional activities, which involve killing animals or cause their suffering. Traditionalists are trying to convince the community that using living creatures for men's needs is natural and can’t be avoided in everyday life. This essay will explore it in detail.

On one hand, activists, who defend animal rights, are preaching the world not to use animals in any way. First of all, they believe that animals should have exactly same rights as humans do. To explain, people and animals are both living creatures, thus there shouldn't be any difference in treating them. So-called extreme vegans, case in point, are refusing to eat any food of animal origin, even milk or honey. Apart from this, such people view killing animals and keeping them in captivity cause animals suffering to them and is perceived uncivilised as well.

On the other side, traditionalists disagree with the statement that human should stop killing animals or using them to fulfil their needs. As, from the very beginning of human civilisation, there is a tradition and vital need to use animals as a food and their parts in traditional crafts. What’s more, without proteins and vitamins of animal origin, the human body wouldn't receive all nutrients it needs. Moreover, testing some medicals on animals already helped to fight many diseases people suffered from.

To conclude, people have the moral right to use animals to their benefit, to some extent. Animals shouldn’t be led to suffer and die for our fun. Although, using animals for food is natural for humans as predators, but as civilised predators, we should make sure to use only humane ways of killing.