There is an increasing number of people using the credit card which seems likely to replace the coins and notes in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The ease in swiping a credit card for a purchase has made it very popular nowadays. Therefore, many opine that this plastic money will replace the coins and paper money in future. It has both a positive as well as a negative development.

To begin with, there are many benefits of credit cards. Firstly, these can be used practically everywhere, especially overseas. They can also boost purchasing power of the person because they can be used to buy goods and services over the phone, through the mail and online. To add to it, they provide financial backup in the event of an emergency, such as an unexpected healthcare cost, job loss or auto repair. Furthermore, credit cards allow you to purchase items and pay them off in monthly installments. They also offer discounts and rewards at stores. For instance, when a person makes purchases using the credit card he can collect points, which accumulate and can be used to get free items, such as airline tickets. Some cards may offer cash back as an incentive to use the card. They can help build your credit history. A person with a good credit history does not face problems when applying for a loan for any reason. Credit cards also keep a record of your expenses, helping you to monitor your financial activities.

On the other hand, credit cards can have their disadvantages. The most dangerous part of credit cards is not paying them off on time, and once falling behind by one payment, late fees, interest, and penalties build very fast because of which many people find themselves sunk in credit card debt, with no way out. Another big disadvantage is the hidden costs. There is the start-up fees and processing fees and also the annual fees, which is quite an amount. Finally, one of the most overlooked negative aspects to credit cards is the ease with which cardholders overspend. The psychology behind this is simple as a person purchases items without ever exchanging actual money, so there is no feel of spending.

Summing up, as with anything, there are advantages and disadvantages of using credit cards. It is in the hands of the person using the card to make its advantages outstrip the disadvantages.