Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer the work and personal calls at any time or 7 days a
week.
Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society?
Technology has come such a long way nowadays that people can make use of their mobile phone to
answer work or personal calls at any time. Although there are some negative consequences of this
development on individuals and society, I believe that they are outweighed by the positive effects.
On the individual aspect, the fact that no work calls are missed could greatly enhance one’s work
efficiency. As we are living in the era of globalisation, the international cooperation between companies
is common and necessary. Being able to make calls and discuss with business partners regardless of time
zones is a great advantage. On a larger scale, this can also contribute to the development of the
economy, thus an increase in the living standard. Furthermore, people can benefit from the fact that
their beloved ones are available for a call at any time. One could seek help from their friends and family
whenever they need, which is especially beneficial in case of emergency. And as the flow of information
between people is constant, society will be connected and move forward.
However, the drawbacks of this development should not be overlooked. Being able to answer calls all
the time means people have less privacy, even in their own home. It also means that workers have to
handle a larger amount of workload and have less quality time for their family. However, the work-life
balance could still be maintained by just a simple act of switching off one’s mobile phone whenever they
leave the office or do not want to be bothered.
In conclusion, despite a few drawbacks, the use of mobile phones for work and personal calls brings
about more benefits to individuals and society.