Are the benefits of mass tourism greater than the problems that it causes? Why or why not?

In order to understand the deep-rooted effect of tourism we must first understand the reason what makes tourism such an attractive activity.

Humans are nomadic creatures. We like to discover and appreciate beauty in all its forms, therefore an activity such as tourism is ecstatic and cathartic to us.

The conditions in the 21. Century allows humans to journey longer than ever before. This “mass tourism” therefore is a social phenomenon. It makes it easier for us to enjoy and understand other cultures which in time leads to greater plurality in ones thought patterns, which is something wonderful in itself.

However, there are also counter arguments against mass tourism. People, who live in areas which are heavily influenced by tourism, such as Venice or Paris, state that their way of living gets damaged because of the tourism industry, which is a fair and a valid concern. Other than that, the cultural monuments may get damaged during the visits.

Therefore, in my humble opinion, the benefits of mass tourism weigh heavier than its problems.

I do understand world in an existentialist way and that forces me to support any kinds of socio-cultural activities. There is literally no way for me to discard the problems of mass tourism but there are naturally some ways of combating those damages, for example we could use some kind of institutions to help secure the world heritage sites against aggressors, for example ISIS.