Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing.

Is this a positive or negative development?

People that are located in the countryside indeed disperse to the big cities. Although there are some drawbacks of declining populations in farming, I would argue that there are far more negative impacts than benefits.

The decrease in inhabitants in the rural areas would result in a lack of agricultural workforces to thrive in this field. With the development of industrialization, people have been scattering to the cities and urban places in search of work, leading to a stagnant situation in one of the most important fields in some nations. For example, in a country such as VietNam, where farming plays a crucial part in the whole economy, would get difficult in gathering enough laborers to work on farms, and this status leads to a shortage in total yields of food such as rice, vegetables which primarily consumed by residents in VietNam as well as exported to the world to bring a huge amount of profits to the economics.

Furthermore, there is an adverse impact on cities if too many people commute to this area is the abundant workers in some fields. For instance, because of industrialization, more and more people want to work in factories majoring in chemistry, etc.. and most of these majors have a slow development throughout the years, so it is unable to expand their scales to adapt to the massive number of workers these days, This redundant of labor forces would cause in the rate of unemployment in mostly big metropolises.

In conclusion, while I recognize the possible advantages of unbalanced scattering between rural and urban areas, I consider it to be a negative development overall.