Is athletic competition good for children?

To some parents, "competition" is not an ideal word. Because not only does it place too much pressure on kids to be their best, but it can also cause unnecessary stress and leave children feeling disappointed if they don't measure up. Moreover, they also think that athletic competition is too dangerous as children can get a serious injury. However, a competition is not just about winning or losing. With athletic competition, children can improve their health, learn teamwork skills and learn how to cope with failure.

First, athletic is good for children’s health. Their health is incredibly important these days due to the growing levels of obesity and the temptation to stay indoors greater than ever. Making sure children have dedicated time where they are active, exercising, and enjoying being outdoors is essential to keeping them healthy. So, by taking part in a weekly sports class children can experience being active, growing stronger, and with expert coaching so they are engaging in the right kind of exercise for their age group.

Second, teamwork is one of the most important skills people look for when hiring new staff and competitive sports is a great example of how an individual works in a team. Though that may be many years away, learning to be part of a team at a young age is the way to start. By recognizing the skills of others, supporting their teammates, and encouraging each other, competitive sports are great for developing children’s understanding of what it means to be a team. For certain children, becoming a captain or leading a team can be a great way to discover their leadership qualities and learn to manage and organize a team as well as be part of one.

Finally, it’s important to learn how to cope with failure. No matter how great a child, at some point they will experience losing, and by taking part in competitive sports classes they can learn to handle this in a safe, supportive environment. Learning to cope with failure is a lesson that can be essential in later life, from missing academic goals to not getting a job interview. By learning that it’s okay to lose and being gracious and controlling emotions, they can develop their tolerance to stress and develop their character. Children can learn to congratulate the winners and think about how they can improve next time without taking it as a personal failure.

There are still many parents out there who will not put their children in athletic competition because of the risk of injury. However, I believe that children will improve their health, learn teamwork skills and learn how to cope with failure with the athletic competition and then can use all of these skills in another place in their life. As long as the children engage in the right kind of sport and with the parents’ monitor, and in that case, everybody wins.