Atomic energy is becoming more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth to danger.

What is your opinion?

It’s true that diverse species has been threatened by improper use of nuclear fission. While I agree that the outcomes of those actions cause numbers of different species of plants, animals and human suffer, the benefits of nuclear power would far outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, the consequences of misused atomic power have threatened the extinction of species. Firstly, in the past, the use of missiles and atomic bombs, a form of nuclear energy, in the Second World War has affected to date with children born with complications such mental retardation and conditions such as autism and other disorders. Secondly, since most nuclear power plants are located along lakes, rivers or seacoasts, cooling water discharged from a plant can affect the ambient habitat conditions for aquatic species. If the water temperature is overheated or freezing, it can harm or kill fishes, affect their health and damage their habitats. Fish may not swim in rivers with the altered temperature that can compromise their spawning activities.

On the other hand, there are several good reasons for atomic energy is widely favoured. Currently, fission power is essential to our response to climate change and greenhouse gas effect by producing emission-free electricity. This can also be used as an alternative to eliminate the uses of other natural resources like coal, oil and gases which cause air pollution. Furthermore, nuclear power stations are cleaner than fossil fuel power stations and could help to reduce carbon emission that causes global warming. With improvements in nuclear technology, the risks of accidents are being reduced. As a result, many countries are now considering nuclear power as a solution to high oil and gas prices, increasing demand for electricity, and worries about pollution and climate change.

In conclusion, although nuclear power can cause tremendous results if misused, we should not dismiss all the benefits it brings rather use it with a precautionary approach.