Because of falling birth rates and better healthcare, the world's population is getting steadily older and this trend is going to cause serious problems for society.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As a result of the decreasing number of babies born every year and an improvement in the health sector, the number of the older population has been increasing steadily. Therefore, it is said that this phenomenon leads to a crisis for society. Although the growing number of older people creates problems for the community, I partially agree with the statement as I believe that governments have been putting extra efforts to deal with this issue.

It is undeniably true that many countries in the world face serious problems caused by the rising number of the elderly population since many old-age people are not financially independent. The government have to allocate a large amount of money to support them such as providing shelters and daily necessities. As a consequence of a large amount of money investing in elderly programmes, some important public sectors might lack financial funding.

However, various approaches have been taken by the government to deal with the elderly people crisis. In developed nations, for instance, the workers have been urged to save more money for their pension. This way, they can have a sufficient amount of money which can be used to support themselves in their final period of life. Another method that has been employed by the government is empowering older people. This programme provides a job for the retire people who want to work to gain extra money. This programme is proven reducing old-age financial dependency and eventually lessening the nation’s responsibilities.

In conclusion, despite causing various problems for the community, the effects of the growing number of older people can be minimised by launching pension scheme and empowering the retired individuals.