Because many children are not able to learn foreign languages, schools should not force them to learn foreign languages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One common school of thought argues that students should be compelled to study a second language at school. From my perspective, this subject should be a recommended part of the curriculum, not a mandatory one.

To begin with, learning a second language undeniably yields a great deal of benefits. Knowing another language allows children to explore the traditions, customs and ways of life of a different people, which boosts cross-cultural understanding and accelerates the process of international integration. In addition, when students master two or more languages, they can easily communicate with foreigners or adapt to an alien environment, which in turn grants them the freedom to move to any place on the globe to seek educational and professional opportunities without fear of language barriers. Furthermore, being bilingual gives them an edge over other candidates in the labor market and broadens their career prospects. For example, Vietnamese graduates who have a good command of English can choose to work for multinational corporations with higher-paying jobs and a better working environment than those who do not speak a second language.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons why making a foreign language a compulsory component of the syllabus would do more harm than good. First of all, the academic workload in Asian countries is already too heavy and takes up a huge proportion of any student’s typical day. Therefore, added subjects mean students have less time for other recreational activities and are more likely to be subjected to stress. Secondly, the language taught at school, oftentimes English, might not be the one students aspire to learn since some might have a passion for Chinese, Korean or Japanese instead. When students are pressured to perform well in a subject that they dislike, they become disheartened and stressed out, making the learning process counterproductive.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language should be encouraged, not forced, and students should have a say in which language they wish to study.