The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Transportation infrastructure plays an inevitable role in economic and social development in many countries. In order to tackle the repercussions of traffic jams, several people believe that complementary and nonstop public transport services are likely to be the most effective solution. I partly subscribe to this theory that transport systems should be available more frequently, but being a free and twenty-four seven service seems to be unnecessary for several reasons, as we shall see.

On the one hand, the excessive number of personal vehicles is probably the primary reason causing traffic jams in many urban areas. Therefore, reducing private cars or bikes and upgrading public means of transportation in terms of quality and quantity is likely to be the best answer. We can see it in the way the public transport system, namely the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) in Singapore has served its citizens effectively and significantly reduced the number of traffic congestions in rush hours. Besides, replacing a large number of engines from personal vehicles by a better public system would tremendously reduce the air pollution, seeming to be an urgent issue in many countries.

However, traffic jams mainly happen in the busiest parts of the day when people go to work in the morning and come back home in the late afternoon, so public buses or trains are less likely to be used after those periods of time. Secondly, urban citizens are virtually off from work on weekends, hence there will be fewer vehicles heading bottlenecks simultaneously, causing traffic congestions. Moreover, having public transport served twenty-four seven without charging may put an enormous burden on government budget. It is true that people pay taxes for building the infrastructures, but the operation and labour costs are expensive and may cause financial strain if it is served complementarily.

Overall, it is true that transportation issues such as traffic jams can be tackled by upgrading public transport system, but I am convinced that it should not be served continuously and free because traffic congestions do not happen all day and people are willing to pay for tickets, as long as the prices are affordable.