People who do not use social media networks will always fall behind in career development opportunities.

To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction?

In this day and age, many people think it is difficult to conceive of a life without social media, and those who do not get involved with any internet community will always restrict themselves to their career progression. While I acutely grasp the importance of social networks, I personally think it is quite subjective and excessive by saying “always” because the virtual world does have some drawbacks, as we shall see.

On the one hand, the internet and social media provide people with a range of benefits and opportunities to empower themselves in a variety of ways. Beside a wealth of knowledge and updated information which can be accessed freely, people are able to easily connect with others having same interests or goals without geographical barriers. It is true that nowadays, many people have significantly succeeded by posting clips relating to a wide range of topics from arts, cooking to political or philosophical viewpoints to social networks such as YouTube or Facebook. Not only are they paid for the appealing contents which attract millions of views, their reputation is also enormously enhanced.

However, a person’s career progression consists of many different elements such as professional certificates, working experience and social skills which require time and effort to achieve. Besides, working in a professional environment demands interpersonal skills, persuasive abilities or presentation methods which are used in face-to-face situations rather than remotely. More crucially perhaps, the repercussions of inappropriate comments or imprecise information posted to social networks may be tremendously severe. For example, a governmental officer is likely to ruin his political career and reputation if he says something incorrectly or aggressively in his personal Facebook page.

Overall, social media networks play an irrefutable role in modern societies but I am convinced that career progression chances are obtained by personal effort and competence. Therefore, we should consider social media as an effective means of communication, not a driving force to success.