The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, to regulate the hug goods driver (HGD) license annually is expected to comfort the road users. Partially, I consent to the same point of view for several reasons which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, to convey the cargo safely with imposing a driving assessment each year might suffer the driver from extra cost of license renewal fees. In terms of their income, the lorry driver is difficult to cover higher living standard. If this regulation were imposed, they would endure supplementary financial burden. Furthermore, to be conducted per year, the bureaucracy would portray tribulations, particularly its administration in which this incriminates transactional politics including commercialism and nepotism. Thus, not only this new system but also public trust will be major challenges for a country.

On the flip side, this issue could bring benefits related to ensure the drivers' physical fitness in terms of safe arrival goods. This would bring trust to the driver who is viewed as a professional to fulfill their responsibility. Subsequently, the company could minimise loss profit and enhance the level of consumer satisfaction. In addition, freight transportation has a risky work which need such regulation to avoid the worst case on the road. The more rigid the regulation is, the less reckless driving the government could prevent high number of road accidents.

To sum up, it seems to me that imposing the law of annual driving test regarding the road safety bring several benefits such as assuring well-fitted drivers and reducing traffic-related death rate. This is as long as the license fee would be affordable for the drivers.