New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

The way teenagers use their leisure time have been influenced by the breakthrough technology. I will contend with how this viewpoint initiates to greater disadvantages which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

On the one hand, the drawbacks of spending too much on technological devices is encouraging youngsters to be indoor activities, inflicting unhealthy lifestyle. Along with UV light screen exposure, children’s snacking habit while watching television and playing games may cause obesity as reported by National Institute of Health that middle childhood phase most likely experiences an increase of BMI. Furthermore, child technology addiction become more individual due to lack of social bonding which can lead to social anxiety disorder. Based on Journal of Anxiety Disorder, the intense of avoidance to fit in some social activities troubles them to build connection with others.

On the other hand, we should emphasize some benefits of this issue that playing video games can boost individuals’ cognitive ability through attentional capacity. Halo-Game series, for instance, expands young people’s temporal memory by training the brain to become flexible in updating and monitoring various information, as happened to American kids who have two times bigger IQ than the average ones. Moreover, the online entertainment platform gives easy access to global information raising youth’s curiosity to learn and explore what they are watching. Together with adaptive learning process, preadolescent child will have social tolerance to accept diverse cultures and languages.

In summary, despite some considerable merits, I would refute that the demerits of advanced technology are more remarkable consensus, including reducing children's physical fitness and uplifting poor social connection.