The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a body that parents could bestow upon their children. However, at the moment the daylight first greeted a new soul on Earth, a baby had had its own particular characteristics. For years, advocates blame on the shortage of parental skills for the rising number of criminal in adolescence. From my point of view, reeducating parental skills does not mean to eradicate this underlying issue.

On the one hand, parental skills is merely one of numerous factor affecting a child’s development. Indeed, Meng Tzu, an ancient philosopher, did claim that human nature was disposed to do good. Scientists, however, had studied on various cases before pointed out a theory that even being nourished in a good environment, an innate-innocence child could turn into evil due to the outer factors such as the historical context, the effect of evil people, and the current circumstance. For instance, Trần Ích Tắc, a royal member of Tran Empire, used to considered a great man. Thanks to his outstanding abilities in strategy and literature, the royal family had expected in him a great support when his nation had to faced its darkest hours. However, fueled by fear and cowardice, he eventually surrendered the Mongolian army and betrayed his nation. It was not the lack of parental skills of his parents but the complicated factors to lead him to a terrible mistake that could never be forgiven. It does not do to blame everything on the shortage of parental skills and forget the other complex factors.

On another aspect, the world is changing tremendously that impacts deeply on each family, especially on parental skills. In fact, it cannot be ignored the importance of family education, but in numerous cases this kind of value would no longer be true. By the time, the old standards of living will collapse for the new one to rise. To parents, it is considered to be hard to figure out the problems their children are facing with. For example, school bully has changed during the years so that parents whom even equipped with a large amount of knowledge learned from social classes could not keep pace with. They could virtually find no way to approach and eradicate the underlying issue because, nowadays, the internet has been an irreplaceable part of life. Cyberbullying, a kind of bully on the internet, is probably an unknown subject for those who are blue-collar workers trying to help their children. At a consequence, a child could turn out to be a criminal after the years of bullied, especially the adolescence. It does not depend on parental alone but on the cooperation between school, parents and students themselves to cease the rise of youth crime.

In conclusion, I believe a multidimensional cooperation is the best way to cease the rising number of criminal in adolescence. Children who are fragile as a bubble need the comprehensive attention of the adults to avoid falling into evil deeds.