The best way to reduce youth crime is to educate their parents with parental skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays crime and violance has become very common among young people. Educating parents with parenting skills is the ideal path to prevent crimes comitted by youngsters. I feel that this may be one of the ways to face such issues but this alone cannot solve the scenario's leading to crime as I think crime among younger population is a multi-factorial problem and children also have to be educated besides the society and teachers in the same manner to have a positive impact.

Firstly, no doubt the responsibility of a parent is imperative in the behavioral development of the youth, But it is not wise to solely blame the family members for certain characteristics of a child. Moreover, a young person should get all the opportunities to get him self educated. Educating children by sending them to scholls were they are tought moral values is a better option rather than completely relying on parental skills which might be impossible for some people to obtain due to various reasons such as lack of time, finances and even interest itself. Hence, it will be a total waste if we try to approach this problem in this way.

Secondly, Society plays a vital role in achieving changes in the mind of a adolacent, simply by creating new rules and taking stringant action against crimes, would install fear in the brains of the people. For example, decreasing the punishment age for juvineals shall instil a some fear towards crime. Furthermore, educators at schools and colleges need to constantly remind their pupils about the antisocial activities which shall land them in trouble.

To conclude, I feel that, just by imparting parenting skills in mothers and fathers is not going to have a major impact in the youth who are drifting towards criminal activities. Eventually this can only be tackled by multi-dimentional approach involving the comunity, teachers and parents.