The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is plain that there is an increasing number of severe traffic and transportation issues occurring in all corners of the globe, making some people believe the utmost solution to this problem is motivating dwellers to move to cities rather than suburbs or rural areas. However, I totally disagree with this notion due to my belief that this is not the most effective way and there are still some other practical methods.

The first reason in favor of my view is that letting more residents commute to cities would merely aggravate the problems, making it turn into an unfeasible solution. Taking Vietnam as the clearest example, the limited road space along with its low quality might be unlikely to endure additional lines of people. Also, the fact that the local traffic system here is extremely chaotic with a considerable volume of motorbikes is sufficient to prove how degraded Vietnam’s traffic system is. Therefore, the appearance of multiple vehicles from other regions would adversely contribute to alarming traffic congestion associated with drastically deteriorated road conditions. Furthermore, being unfamiliar with big cities’ roads could also give rise to grievous car accidents since the road system here is complicated.

Another reason to argue with the given notion is that focusing harshly on road safety is a more viable option to mitigate the quantity of traffic and transportation problems. This could be managed by ordering direct appearances of police on roads for an immediate fine to any disobedient drivers as well as directing every vehicle-users to travel in the appropriate direction, leading to the elimination of daily traffic jams. In addition, more traffic cameras can be set up for constant supervision of the traffic systems in case the police are packed with other work. As a result, every driver would automatically observe the traffic rules for fear of being caught and fined with a large sum of money. However, obeying the rules is much up to each individual's awareness, therefore establishing social campaigns involving road safety for the inhabitants can facilitate preventing traffic problems. This would be more effective than encouraging more people to big cities.

In brief, while some people support the view that the best way to address traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to reside in cities other than the countryside or suburbans, I totally disapprove of this notion on account of the fact that this way would merely worsen the current situation and not be the most viable one. Therefore, instead of inducing citizens to locate in big cities, each local council must take responsibility for presenting more solutions involving road safety to tackle traffic problems in their area.