The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs or countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic is one of the many acute problems yet to be solved in contemporary society. Recently, some have proposed that motivating people to move to urban areas can be a possible way to resolve this problem. Although there are some virtues to this, I still keenly disagree with this suggestion as it leads to overcrowding which exacerbates the problem.

Minimizing traffic moving out of cities has some benefits. As people gather together, transportation out of cities is only necessary to replenish food and products. Furthermore, people won’t have to commute between urban areas and the countryside. For example, an astronomical amount of people in small districts have to travel by bus every day to work. We can reduce transportation if they live near where they work.

However, this methodology can only partially fix the problem and may worsen it further. Many cite overcrowding as one of the reasons for traffic jams. Thereby, attracting more people to settle in urban areas will aggravate the status quo as they still need to commute inside the city, but now with numerous others. To illustrate, Ho Chi Minh City has to contend with overcrowding and traffic jam is an everyday thing there. Moreover, governments will have to outlay myriad resources to build more residential areas to accommodate those who come, which puts a prodigious strain on the economy.

To recapitulate, stimulating people to move into cities may have merits, but the liabilities outweigh the benefits as it causes overcrowing, which begets more transportation problems, and an unreasonable loss of money.