The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that raising the price of petrol is the most effective way to curb escalating pollution problems. In my opinion, though this measure would have a tangible impact, there are more acceptable ones.

On the one hand, more expensive fuel costs may cause a decrease in fuel demand for both individuals and companies, which brings about a reduction in carbon dioxide emissions. This can be seen in the way that the average people struggling to pay their bills every month might decide to switch from private vehicles to other modes of transport such as walking, riding a bicycle, and using public transportation. Companies using fossil fuel combustion in industrial activities also have motivation to use alternative materials for maximizing their profits. However, this method may bring little change as many other environmental problems like deforestation and land degradation are not closely correlated with fuel consumption, and thus could hardly be rectified by an increase in fuel prices.

On the other hand, I think that a better environment can be achieved by other more effective methods. Firstly, governments could implement more stringent environmental regulations on all aspect of life from overusing of pesticides and fertilizers to limiting greenhouse gase emision. In United State, for example, pesticide misuse is fined heavily, therefore this will make individuals and organizations more responsible in order to avoid future punishment. Secondly, by investing in green alternative energy sources such as solar, wind, and tidal power, human beings can lower their reliance on fuel. With the support of governments around the world, the innovation in energy has sparked a wave of electric vehicles as those means of transport are now expected to replace gas-powered ones altogether to slow climate change.

In conclusion, increasing petrol price can be an effective factor to reduce the consumption of fossil fuel. However, it is not the best way as developing renewable energy sources and enforcing environmental laws can be more helpful in most cases.