The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proliferation of modern transport vehicles is the main culprit of innumerable problems to the environment. It is suggested that the optimum method to alleviate the negative implications of automobiles and other transport vehicles on the environment is to raise the cost of fossil fuels. I somewhat disagree with this view as the higher prices of fuels may spell trouble for people and society as a whole, even though it may discourage the utilization of cars.

The increase in fuel cost is a harbinger of degradation of living standards of underprivileged individuals and economy deterioration. It is a fact that the fuel cost constitutes a large portion of the expenditure of the impoverished. The rise of the cost will prevent the less well-off from purchasing other necessities such as food or education, thereby decreasing their quality of life. More importantly, the upsurge in the price of fuels takes its toll on the material wealth of society. Fuel is one of the foremost commodities playing a key role as an important input of many domains of businesses. The increase in the price of the merchandise will subsequently lead to inflation, the phenomenon that the cost of all goods goes up simultaneously. By increasing the cost of fossil fuels, the authorities not only place million lives of the poor at risk but threaten economic stability.

Admittedly, there are certain environmental merits associated with boosting the price of fuel for vehicles. One of the virtues worth mentioning is that it can ameliorate the effects of over-reliance on cars, producing hazardous fumes and leaving a myriad of carbon footprints, the main contributors to ecological equilibrium destabilization. The approach, however, may be the precursor to many societal and economical issues. It thus brings more harm than good to humanity.

In sum, I mostly object to the perspective that increasing fuel costs will help tackle environmental issues. While this suggestion is valid to some extent, it has adverse impacts on poor citizens and jeopardizes the prosperity of nations.