The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems in to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals contend that the policy makers should put financial pressure on the fossil fuels for private vehicles. While this idea can partly mitigate the degree of pollution, I firmly hold the view that there are some other methods to encounter this worldwide problem.

On one hand, there are some significant benefits of the increasingly prohibitive price of gasoline used in motorbike or cars, the most significant of which is the reduction of the number of private vehicles, which results in the lower degree of pollution. As a matter of fact, once petrol-run vehicles are in operation, the burned fossil fuel produce a huge amount of toxic gas like carbon dioxide; therefore, contribute majorly to the air pollution. Were the authorities set a higher price for gas and petroleum, a large proportion of individuals were more likely to opt for more affordable types of transport, such as relying on public vehicles such as buses or undergrounds. In other words, fewer private vehicles means fewer pollutants released to the environment, and the air pollution especially in the city can be lessened. Hence, the rise in gas prices would act as a deterrent against air pollution.

On the other hand, I would argue that putting financial pressure on road users is not an optimal answer for the world’s pollution question. In fact, no matter how expensive the fossil fuel is, a group of people who dislike the inconvenience of mass transit still willing to pay for higher fuel price, which leads to the perpetuation of air pollution. From my perspective, the more effective solution lies in the affordability of environmentally-friendly vehicles or energy including ethanol or solar energy. If the government subsidizes manufactures with “green energy” and “green vehicles”, the products will be delivered to the end-users at lower prices. When these products’ prices are comparable to petrol cars, the majority of people would take into account of changing their driving habits. Only then could environmental concerns be mitigated.

In conclusion, the state’s decision to increase financial burdens on vehicle users through a higher price of fossil fuel could be useful for lowering the level of air pollution, yet I am of the opinion that cutting down on prices of renewable and clean energy plays a more important role in the protection of mother Earth.