The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, environmental protection has been receiving a great deal of public attention due to its huge impacts on humankind. While some argue that increasing the fuel price for vehicles is the ultimate approach to address environmental deterioration, the adoption of a single solution might not be effective, regarding its limitations.

On the one hand, there are the following main reasons for advocating this idea. First, by raising the fuel cost for vehicles, there would be a significant decrease in the amount of exhaust fumes from transport vehicles. It is an indication that this acts as an incentive for the adoption of other public transportation, which directly guards against the air pollution.

Second, as this strategy puts greater burden on fuel cost, it will motivate vehicle businesses to further utilize renewable energy sources to manufacture cars, motorbikes or buses which are environmentally-friendly. This increased demand for alternative vehicles could lead to more investment in research and development of electric vehicle technology, which could result in the dramatic reduction of the reliance on fossil fuels.

On the other hand, there are many limitations of this idea. First, there is a lack of the popularity of transport infrastructures such as high railways or rapid transit in developing countries, especially in the third-world one, citizens, therefore, have no choice but to possess their own personal vehicles for commuting. If the government approves the policy of higher fuel price, this would inevitably cause harm to their less affluent ciziten's fortune which makes citizen’s lives more miserable. Second, regarding the incompetent capabilities to partly address the roots of environmental problems while there are other main contributors for the pollution. For example, industrial factories should hold the majority responsible for the air pollution, soil pollution and water pollution as they are breeding grounds for toxic chemical wastes linking with the intensification of the greenhouse gasses, the death of aquatic animals and habitat destruction respectively.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the policy of higher fuel cost is not without advantages in protecting the environment, it should be parallel implemented with other strategies to bring the best results.