The best way to solve world's environmental problem is increase the cost of fuel.

Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

It is sometimes argued that should government increase the price of fuel to battle against climate change. Personally, I think that it would be ineffective if we implemented this change without considering carefully.

On the one hand, there are some immediate effects that will be beneficial for the people and the environment. By rising petroleum’s value, people will be reluctant when they want to use their private vehicles. Since cars and other means of transport released into the atmosphere tons of greenhouse gases every year, cutting down the use of them would have positive impacts on our lives. First, the quality of air will be improved and the number of people having respiratory problems like Asthma would be reduced significantly. Second, because people have to look for others types of transport, public transportation would be their first priority due to low price and its convenience. Therefore, we also tackle the problem of traffic congestion during rush hours in many spots and reduce the amount of time people commuting every day.

On the other hand, people will have problem in adapting this sudden change in their regular basis. Some people, for example: taxi drivers, earn a living by transporting customers. When the authority increase the price of fuel, they will not be able to make ends meet and become unemployed. In addition, I think transportation is not only the main contributor to air pollution. If we do not have the appropriate approach to such issues like the cutting down of trees, the lack of regulation in controlling toxic gasses emitted from factories, the situation might be worsened.

In conclusion, while heightening the cost of fuel may have some positive effects but only on a certain extent. In my opinion, dealing with such a big problem like climate change requires the combination of many measures that can only show greatest effectiveness when they are used together