Biotechnology companies all over the world are developing different types of genetically modified (GM) crops. However, not enough is known about the effects of these crops on our health and on environment. Inferring with nature in this way should be prohibited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Biotechnology has two sides of influences onto crops (genetically modified ones), which can be able to maintain one’s healthy diet program by absorbing various nutritional values from it, whereas this side effect is unknown and it can be fatal to the health. In my perspective, while I understand the fatal potential risk for consuming GM crops, the benefits from such crops cannot be ignored. Therefore, the wise consumption should be recommended.

To begin with, the GM produces future opportunities to grow. The use of biotechnology makes the foods to be available throughout the year by efficient land usage, regardless with the climate unsustainable due to the global warming. Therefore, people can enjoy from constant healthy diet all year round by foods being available during unconventional growing seasons. Since GM foods have maximised all the benefits (enhance the nutritional values), people could obtain more valuable and rich substances of nutrients from food so that they can manage their eating habit. Improved the quality of GM food will lead a less eating habit due to the sustain satiation. Thus, it can put a halt in the world hunger issue.

In contrast, the GM crops which influence on human’s health are leading to fatal maladies because inclusive of chemical substances within, thus some experts claim that such crops should be banned. The accumulation of such unknown chemical substances within one’s body is unknown but the past studies have discovered that it led to several chronic, respiratory and cell destructions. For example, the National Centre for Health Statistics stated that, the percentage of Americans with chronic illness jumped from 7% to 13% in just 9 years during the genetically modified crops being popular. Also, food allergies in children rose from 2.4% to 5.1% from 1997 to 2011. From this research, we can conclude that the genetically modified crops can directly effect on human’s health.

In conclusion, GM crops have several benefits related to growing and the nutritional value despite the critical health issues. Therefore, the amount of intake of GM crops should be monitored and watched closely to prevent any other potential health risks.