Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is a common fact that entrance into university is very competitive and difficult. I partially agree with this statement because the wealthy members of society typically have numerous advantages in life, which allows them to live with fewer struggles. However, these privileges would most likely not be as helpful in gaining admission to a university.

Some people could argue that since the rich members of the society will have a larger proportion of disposable income, they would be able to invest it in private tutoring and other aspects of their children’s education. This would allow their offspring to easily attain better results, and be able to meet the requirements of difficult university courses. Another advantage the rich have over the poor is their ability to use their connections and power to help get valuable work experiences that could further aid in their university applications. This would be extremely favourable to students as they will gain invaluable experience that would set them apart from their peers; making them more competitive. However, it isn’t impossible for a student coming from an underprivileged background, to not gain the same opportunities. But undoubtedly it would be much harder for them to get the same standard of opportunities or grades.

Nonetheless, getting into university is primarily based on the student’s academics rather than their background or their social status. Firstly, most of the universities have strict requirements on their courses for the grades they will accept. Sixth Form colleges give the same support to all of their students to help achieve those grades. Private tutoring is a personal choice for some, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that one would do better. Secondly, universities give bursaries to students that are from poor backgrounds, allowing them to take lesser student loans than those who are able to afford to pay them easily. An example of this would be the Student Finance in the UK, that gives students extra funding such as providing reduced study loans for those who are intellectually gifted but cannot afford to undertake study loans. Finally, many of the work experience opportunities available for students today are not strictly reliant on connections or positions of power. Everybody is given a fair chance of being able to apply for such programmes and be accepted. The UK government through 'Ofsted' has funded many such work experience programmes for students.

In conclusion, despite the poor members of society having equal opportunities given to them by the government and education institutes as the rich. It still doesn't undermine the extra struggle that poor students have to go through.