In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Traditionally, old British people decide to live in retirement living center or nursing housing when they get older and need extra help on a daily basis. This common scenario raise the questions about who should cover the cost for this care, whether the government or their relatives. In my opinion, both public administrations and family must be bear cost.

First, governments hold a social responsibility with their citizens, particularly with the elderly ones. Elder people, during their younger age, contributed with their efforts, work and commitment to build and support nation's economy and its greatness. Also, they religiously paid taxes and any other economy contributions, so they have earned the right to receive back a payment from the local authorities as a subvention or financial assistance to cover the fees to live in a residency.

Second, younger family members have a moral duty to their old ones. They should retributive the care, help and love they once got from their parents or grandparents. In Spain, for instance, there is an unwritten agreement among families (siblings) to take care of their elderly economically, once they are reach a point where special care and attention are needed. However, under the eventual scenario that elderly people don't have relatives left or known, the government must be fully in charge of the well-being and care of them.

To sum up, the cost of living in a retirement community or residency should be comprised by government and family finance contributions, awarding the help they once received from their older citizens and relatives.