Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past thirty years, possessing a vehicle has shown a dramatic upward trend that a lot of states are experiencing a huge traffic congestion. In my opinion, I believe that there is actually an increase in this issue. In the next paragraphs, I will discuss this statement and what can be done to overcome this problem.

First , there are more inhabitants who are purchasing a car. The reason for this is that a huge number of citizens believe that it is the easiest way of transportation because they can go to a place whenever they want without depending on time schedule of buses or trains. Moreover, it is also not possible to choose your own time to travel with those transportations. Therefore, the majority of people choose to buy a vehicle because of the fact that it saves time and money.

Secondly, the govermennt can increase the tax in city centres. As a result, a huge amount of teenagers and young adults will reduce using the car. For instance, in England , after imposing higher tax on cars, the proportion of using private cars decreases significantly by 37% .Therefore, the pollution and traffic blockage have fallen gradually by this impact. Thus, this way we can reduce the numbers of the vehicles on the road.

In conclusion, the numbers of vehicles are increasing year by year. In my viewpoint, I believe that this development is really prevalent because of the fact that its time saving and an easy way to travel. Imposing a higher tax on private vehicles such as car is one of the most effective way to reduce traffic blockage in big cities.