Central and local governments make a frantic attempt to promote festivals to create a lot of revenue. Some people think this money should be invested in social programmes for the poor.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer.

In recent years, the fact that governments are frantically attempting to promote festivals to generate revenue is not a new trend. However, the money made is thought to be of better use if it is invested in social programmes for the impoverished. Although I agree with this opinion, there are other aspects that we need to look at.

To use the profits from this form of economy on anti-poverty programmes is a humane act with clear benefits. First of all, by spending more money on poor people, we can provide them with a boost, and such propel them to a better life. One way the government can do this is to lend the poor people this money as a capital for them to invest in their own business, then return the money when they have made enough money to live comfortably. Another benefit of this approach is that it can severely help with reducing crime. As people get more financially independent, the need to commit petty crimes such as theft and shoplifting is no longer present. As a result, it can help in forming a better community.

On the flip side, spending all of that money on the poor would not be a good move in the current situation. After the devastating pandemic and its effects on the economy and society, any source of income would be greatly beneficial to a local community and a nation as a whole. These can be used to aid small businesses back to work, as well as compensating for the months of inactivities among the community.

In conclusion, although using revenues from festivals on social programmes for the poor is indeed a great way to utilize the profits, we must also take into account the current circumstance and shift the spending to the areas that are more vital.