For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

For a very long time major aspects of education such as reading, writing and maths haven't been changed. Along with the invention of computers some people support the idea that computer skill should be included in the list. In my opinion, I agree that computers are an effective and welcomed contribution into the process of studying, however they must be considered as instruments for the students instead of being listed as one of the major parts of their education. This essay will discuss the main advantages as well as the flaws of computers in the field of education.

In century of technologies it would be unthoughtful to keep the computers completely out of the education system. They help to preserve time by doing massive calculations in a few seconds, they are easily navigated compared to libraries, they carry vast amount of information consuming as little space as possible. Students are more motivated to read a book, if they don't have to spend several minutes looking up unknown words in a tremendous dictionary. It takes 2 seconds to find out the definition of a word with the help of a computer.

However looking at the screen for a long period can damage one's eyes, spine and even cause psychological deseases. It is also very important that many families cannot afford buying a computer, which can lead to inequality in the classroom and eventually degenerate into bullying. That is why it must be vital for schools to organize a study plan which is equally effective with or without the us of computers.

In sum, computers are valued tools, that help to make students' learning process much easier, but as soon as they can't be used by everyone and without damaging one's health , their role must not be overrated. This situation might change in future if computers become cheaper and less radiative.