Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television.However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well-educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Television revoultionized modern entertainment culture as maximum number of children remain indoor spending time in front of television set, which ultimately affected learning capabilities of children and resulted in depletion of education quality. I completely agree with this situation and would put forwards my views to support it.

With invention of television, modern lifestyle underwent transformation leading to maximum time spent indoor watching television. Firstly, television provide wide array of programmes’ for all age groups. Children are easily influenced and swayed by the content of television and are addicted to it. Moreover, many shows on television not meant for children are viewed by them in absence of parental supervision and wrong message is delivered to children. Secondly, educational content of television does not impart deep knowledge and proficient skills in single view. Though it seems enjoyable and fun to learn from TV sets, it is difficult to sustain, retain and gain knowledge in long term. For instance, Doordarshan National channel in India broadcast-ed many educational shows but it didn’t really enhanced student life due to irregularities and one time broadcast.

Many a times, children are influenced by violence and vulgarity which mostly have commercial and entertainment purpose. Children easily fall prey to such nuisance and imitates such actions in real life which hampers physical, social and mental development. This not only deflects them from formal education but also from normal behavior in daily life. For example many superhero pictures doesn’t convey any fruitful message but rather affects children making them believe it to be true.

Lastly, no means of electronic media can substitute books for learning. Books give a complete sense of acquiring knowledge and wisdom. Books can be read anywhere and anytime without any special requirement. Time spent in reading books is more productive than time spent in front of TV sets. Moreover, books help in overall cognitive development.

To conclude,I firmly adhere with the traditional methodology of learning and firmly believes that Television is simply a waste of time.