Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly.

Why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Children spend more time on watching TV in nowadays than in the past so decreases the number of their activities. There are several causes of this issue and effective solutions should be produced to address this problem.

The problem happens for many reasons. Firstly, with the development of technology, it is easily seen that each household can have at least one television with a reasonable price. Secondly, the programme in the television are more attractive. In addition, these are improved in quality as well as increased in number so that it can lead children to watch for long hours without feeling bored. As I know, children in developed countries like the USA spend an average of about 3 hours a day watching television.

Several measures can be taken to increase the activity levels of children. Schools should organize more outdoor and indoor activities such as take exercise at morning, play sports at afternoon,... Beside that, families also play an important role in addressing the problem. Parents should limit the time children watch television and create more useful activities for children. For instance, in Vietnam, children are allowed to watch television for about 30 minutes a day. In addition, at the weekend parents take their children to the park to running or walking and join in outdoor activities.

In conclusion, there are some reasons that make children watch more television so that they spend less time taking exercise. However, this trend can reduce if solutions should be introduced to encourage higher levels of activity among children.