Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this the case?

What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Since the dawn of the television era, children used to spend more time watching tv instead in other playful activities. The main reason behind this phenomenon is pupils are inclined to innovative gadgets and television content makes them addicted. Additionally, working parents and single families indirectly turn their children into the television rather playing outside. However, it can be minimized by parental and peer support.

To begin with, intriguing nature of children bring them to sit in front of television to watch innovative cartoon series, comics and other programmes. There are many channels that have a special influence on the viewer's minds and they are forced to watch again and again to get pleasure and happiness without doing anything physically. For instance, the Tom and Jerry series is one of the favorite items of most children. Similarly, nowadays excessive counts of single families and working parents unknowingly keep their offspring in front of the television. This was okay for them to manage and watch their children irrespective of going out. Many parents do not want to bring their children to go out due to reasons like lack of time, living standards, and social status.

Nevertheless, it can be tackled with parental support and peer pressure. Advise the parents and children regarding the health and psychological benefits of playing out and physical exercise to the whole. Community groups and cultural clubs might help the children to bring out from the houses and spend quality time with the same age children on play ground or outdoor. For example, sports events and cultural programs organized by the community or school makes the children to participate in outdoor activities. Support groups and team play helps the pupils overall wellbeing and physical and social strength. Instruct the students about advantageous and benefits of physical activity from school also help them to be aware.

To sum up, a burgeoning number of pupils watch television nowadays due to many reasons and addiction to tv program rather doing physical activities and can be minimized in many ways.