Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are the early reading skills in a child’s academic performance? What other pre-school factors influence a child’s later academic achievements?

Most parents attempt to do what is best for their children’s proper development. Some people believe that teaching children to read early is going to help their future success. However, I do not agree with this notion. Reading skills are certainly important but in my opinion a 3 or 4 year old does not have to learn to read. I believe spending quality time with children and encouraging different play time activities are more / a lot more beneficial for the overall development of a child. In this essay, I will defend my stand / opinion with valid arguments.

Firstly, we should understand that all children are different in terms of capabilities and needs. Hence compelling every child to learn to read from a very young age might prove to be counter-productive. While some children may take to this, others may develop apathy towards reading and this might prove to be a bigger problem when they start school.

Furthermore I believe that if parents and teachers, engage young children in different interesting exercises, it is going to prove to be more fruitful than concentrating only on learning to read. For example, games like puzzles, coloring exercises and musical lessons are a lot more beneficial for the development of their motor and cognitive skills. In turn, this will have a better grip on their reading or speaking and they may learn to read or communicate even faster. Furthermore, I greatly support encouraging children to play outdoor games. This would enable them to be fit and also be in close proximity with nature which will enhance their social and cognitive skills all the more.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that if parents give undue importance to introducing their child to reading at a young age, they may miss out on many fun activities. However, I also believe that reading should be included in a toddler’s schedule so that they are used to books from an early age which is a very good habit to have for their bright future.