In cities and towns in all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem What are the causes of the this and What action can be taken to solve this problem

All around the globe, in large metropolitan cities and urban areas, traffic congestion is increasing tremendously at an alarming rate, attributed some serious issues. In my opinion, I think that traffic problem is mainly due to unreliability of public transport, change in life style of human and other various reasons. This issue could be mitigated if government promote public transport usage by surge in buses and trains services and decrease in traveling cost.

To begin with, traffic jam is a pervasive and critical concern in big cities of many countries in the world that causes delay, unreliability, loss of comfort and efficiency, and environmental problems over the urban areas. There are several reasons behind this terrible problem. Firstly, in the last few years, immense number of people has been migrated from rular to urban area that contributed significantly in traffic issue by putting more strain on roads due to high number of private vehicle usage. In other words, people come from village ares to large cities to get highly paid jobs, to gain some good qualification from various colleges or universities and for these aforesaid reasons require travel from one place to another for work or study purposes that create the necessity to keep own vehicle and eventually led traffic congestion issue. Secondly, these days people keep their own private vehicle for comfort and status symbol. For example, in this modern time, people think that car is mandatory for their household to travel in comfort zone, even for very small distance for shopping and other purposes. Along with this, people think that it is absolutely essential to have vehicle to show status of their living in the society and that sense of materialistic life put extra burden on roads. Thirdly, in some metro cities, public transport is unreliable and traveling fare is very expensive so to avoid delay to work and to save extra cost of traveling people prefer private vehicle. Finally, in some countries, there is lack of traffic sense in people and they break traffic rules that create a awful traffic issue. For instance, in morning rush office and school hour, everyone wants to reach on time and due to lack of rule sensibility, they block traffic by using wrong lanes that ultimately result in big traffic jam.

However, there are numerous solutions of this traffic problem. One solution is that government should increase the reliability of public transport by expanding the number of bus and train services and by decreasing the travel fare. Furthermore, government should promote proper understanding of traffic rules and regulations and eco-friendly travel as well. To illustrate, everyone should in the city should be well acquainted with traffic rules and there should be fine and strict punishment to breach the rules. Along with this, travel by bicycle and car sharing should be promoted to avoid road congestion. Moreover, advance technology is having significant role in control congestion at busy hours and improve traffic flow. Like in Singapore, intelligent transport system led dramatic improvement in traffic by maximising road network efficiency and monitoring traffic flow to improve traveling conditions.

In conclusion, there are variety of different factors that are responsible for high level traffic problem in urban areas. While, to tackle this issue government should impose strict traffic rules, improve public transport, decrease travel fare, promote eco-friendly transport means and use of advance technology.