The claim that animals have “rights” has been the subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

In 1970, a group of people raised a concern on whether animals have the same rights as those enjoyed by human beings. This argument started a crucial debate on whether zoos are a good habitate for animals. On one side stands a perspective that zoos are hurting animal rather than actually protecting or conserving them. This essay will discuss why zoos are not just the right place for animals.

Zoos have failed to serve their purpose and rather than helping the animals they are tormenting them day and night. Forest is the natural habitate for most of the wild animals and they grow their naturally

with their innate skills. These animals faces a lot of problems growing in a restricted environment where not only their growth is impeded but their life span is also curtailed.

For example a lion cub learn hunting from its parents in the forest, however in zoos the animals are kept isolated from each other and thus a cub is deprived of learning those hunting skills.

Thus, zoos does not provide the apt environment for these predators to grow naturally.

Secondly, zoos have become more of a commercial place where animals are kept with the purpose of exhibition. The staff is least bothered in taking care of the animal from the perspective of a care taker.

In many zoos, a lot of illegal activities are carried out under the covers which includes but not limited to smuggling of animal skin and many more precious body parts. It clearly beats the entire

objective of conserving the animals.

In conclusion, zoos are contriving in bringing an imbalance to the nature. This essay discussed how zoos are not beneficial for the animals and cause more destruction to their life. Clearly banning zoo should be the first step to protect the animal rights.