In class, you have been discussing the statement “Old members should be looked after by the members of their family or it is better for them to live in nursing-home. Your teacher has asked you to write an essay express your own opinion.

family: "Times New Roman",serif">Nowadays, it is commonly argued whether it is better for the elderly to be taken care by their family members or to live in a nursing home. From my point of view, I suppose that nursing-home should be a better choice as it is beneficial for both themselves as well as the whole family.

family: "Times New Roman",serif">there are a number of undeniable reasons that make people do not want their parents to live in nursing homes. first and foremost, living apart from families causes homesickness with a variety of different levels. it is hard for family members to pay a visit to nursing homes regularly and spend time with their parents, especially when they live so far apart. Secondly, caring service in nursing homes are possibly unaffordable for some families due to its expense. Many households still do not have good financial conditions to pay pricey caring service for their parents, which may lead to stress and pressure for the whole families. Thirdly, living in nursing homes is also considered to be loss of freedom and independence. The elderly has to adapt into the environment where everyone wakes up, has meals, and sleeps at consistent time every day. In fact, the old possibly have to adjust their routines because their schedules may not be the same as those in nursing homes, which can make them feel extremely uncomfortable and tired to change when getting into the new habitat and condition.

family: "Times New Roman",serif">On the other hand, the option to choose to accommodate in nursing homes are obvious for several positive aspects of it. The first considerable reason is that nursing homes can make sure to provide the elderly with extreme care every day. Their programs consist of different services for the old such as: health care, daily routine management, eating habits witness, which can help to prevent family members from concerning about their parent’s health condition from time to time. Moreover, the old people are likely to be more communicative and less emotional when living with their peers. The old talking openly to others who are at the same ages as them in nursing homes can prohibit the sense of isolation. they will no longer wait for their family members who are always busy to come home or chat with them cheerfully in the loneliness and separation. Furthermore, caring service for old people are beneficial not only for themselves but also their families. All adults have to work every day, except for the weekend, and that is the reason why they cannot always carefully look after the elderly, or they can even be distracted when working because of worrying about their parents’ safety all the time. Therefore, nursing homes are the best choice for both to live their own lives better.

family: "Times New Roman",serif">In conclusion, it is a high tendency that people take the elderly to nursing homes for better care and security, apart from the drawbacks. In the future, it is hopeful that there are more positive developments in nursing homes to benefit society.