"Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success in school". Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that classmates are a more crucial factor than parents when it comes to a child's academic achievements. I completely support this belief in view of the fact that classmates are more sympathetic and can create a competitive studying environment.

Initially, a child's classmates tend to be compassionate should he be going through a hard time. Owing to their being peers, they do not criticize him but understand his mentality and make efforts to help him, for example, by providing comfort or offering befitting solutions. This is not only conducive to children's being mentally healthy but also enables them to study without distracting thoughts.

Additionally, classmates build up competitiveness at school. A great many students do not want to fall behind their peers or have results not as good as theirs. As a result, they are driven to study harder for higher marks in the next tests. This kind of friendly rivalry is instrumental for one to strive for success.

It is apparent from the aforementioned paragraphs that classmates have greater impact than parents on children's education due to their compassion and competitiveness.