Competitiveness is a positive quality for people to have among most societies. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

There is no doubt that competitiveness is, by and large, one of the most striking traits of human. It is often argued that it is detrimental to people’s lives; nevertheless, I believe it also brings about benefits. The way rivalry impacts on each person and its merits and demerits would be presented in this essay.

The major effects of competitiveness could be noticeably felt at the workplace and school. Not only do company’s leaders seek for outstanding employees who prove to be competitive to lead team-work but customers also have desires for products and services with competitive prices. Apparently, rivalry plays as an indispensable motivation, stimulating students to pass exams with flying colors to become top in their class. For the most part, competitiveness is availably existing in every aspect of daily lives.

There is a common belief that this quality adversely affects individuals. First of all, the excessive focus on being the best could mislead people, by all means even committing crimes or doing harm to other colleagues, in order to reach their goals. Secondly, students are prone to be constantly under extreme pressure if they are obsessed with high marks, high ranks and impressive certificates, which might result in the risks of autism and depression.

However, I am in the favor of the view that the advantages of competitiveness are more significant. Entering a competition could be seen as an excellent opportunity for everyone to challenge themselves, breaking comfort zones, and prove their potentials. Furthermore, it seems that the more ambitious one child is, the greater possibility of success he gains. This is because he could be aware of his rivalries, fearless of any failures and eager to make more and more progress.

In conclusion, competitiveness is undoubtedly a feature of human’s personalities that should be taken into cautious consideration to upgrade its advantages and lessen its disadvantages.