Competitiveness is a positive quality for people in most societies. How does competitiveness affect individuals?

Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, people tend to be more competitive to achieve efficiency in their work. This trend might bring about some positive as well as negative effects to each individual. From my point of view, the advantageous merits of competitiveness are more significant.

On the one hand, being competitive will cause some detrimental influences on people. Firstly, people who possess this characteristic might be conceited and self-absorb. Their relationships with colleagues, friends or partners are always in trouble as they are unwilling to compromise if any conflict occurs. As a result, an unhealthy environment will be created, making some workers uncomfortable and leaving their organization. Secondly, being too competitive will be harmful to their health. As they are work-oriented people and usually suffer from overloaded situations to complete their goals which might lead to stress or great pressure.

Nevertheless, from my perspective, competitiveness brings about various benefits. Being competitive comprises a sense of rivalry which will motivate people to work harder and achieve their goals. For example, in school, students who have the tendency to compete with others might be able to study more efficiently and quickly. Another advantage of being competitive is that it helps to improve the working efficiency in many organizations and enhance productivity. That is the reason why lots of companies nowadays try to recruit and preserve competitive employees as they are resilient and hard to give up in working.

In conclusion, there are numerous competitive individuals in society these days. Although they might have to suffer from its drawbacks, I strongly believe that competitiveness is a necessary quality and it benefits both the workers and the companies.