Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults’ work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Computers are integrated into almost every device nowadays. The price of a computer has been falling steadily. They have become so affordable that anyone can afford to buy them. Computer technologies have simplified life for everyone. They have enabled people to work from home or anywhere. Learning is no longer restricted to classrooms, there is more to learn online than from any classroom. The meaning of computer technologies is no longer limited to personal computers like desktops and laptops. The technology is in phones, medical equipment, cars, houses and just about everywhere.

The advent of computers has ushered in an era of remote workplaces, markets, medicine and learning. Many large companies allow employees to work from home as they could do everything they need to without going to the office physically. The most inaccessible places are now connected to the information superhighway. Computers have created a virtual world that is transforming human life profoundly. Much good came out of the development of this technology. In the future unimaginable things can be made possible by computers. People could be relieved from all manual, tedious work and focus on more productive and higher functions. There may be unintended consequences of the accessibility of computer technology. The use of information technology for criminal activity is a side effect. Counterfeiting and identity theft has become more prevalent due to easy availability of computers.

Overall benefits of computers outweighs the drawbacks. Without this technology modern living as we know it would come to a standstill. Computers keep us safe, they protect us, work for us and help enhance our lives. It is one of the greatest inventions ever that has positively served humanity.