Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many people argue that the most critical invention in the twentieth century must be computing technology. I agree with the statement and my opinions would be proven in the following paragraphs.

First, it is irrefutable that the creation of computers is one of the most influencing events during human history beside fire, dynamite, and steam machine. It has completely changed the means of information management and transfer, laying the foundation for the new era of information technology. Tonnes of documents were stored in printed paper before, had been digitalized, and could be searched in just a blink of an eye. Thanks to that technology, knowledge had become widespread, easily accessible, and simultaneous.

Second, the researchers, base on the ability of high-speed calculation of the computers, implemented great projects on a much larger scale. Many successor inventions born from the platform of computing have alternated the previous protocols. These effects are seeable in all majors of the economy ranging from finance, commerces, marketing to agriculture and manufacturing. In the future, computers and the internet will surely allow new creations to appear, and possibly, those will replace human beings in many different fields. The first twenty years of the twenty-first century have witnessed an unbelievable pace of changes all over the world.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that the invention of computers is a historical turn of civilization. As an individual of the new generations, each of us will have to pay our best effort to adapt the new world.