Students leave high school without learning how to manage their money.
What are the reasons and solutions for this issue?
There is a common problem amongst high school graduates these days where students are leaving
school without any knowledge or skills in personal money management. This essay will outline a
number of reasons for this trend and a number of possible solutions to help tackle the issue.
One of the main causes of this problem is that the majority of high school students live with their
parents and are completely financially dependent upon them. Most students do not need to work to
earn money while at high school, as their parents pay for all their needs, and therefore do not gain any
understanding of the realities of earning and saving money. Also, the only money that students receive
is from their parents and this is typically in the form of pocket-money, which is given with the intent on
it being spent. Therefore, young people only really learn how to spend money, and not how to earn,
save or manage it wisely.
However, there are a number of viable solutions to help students deal with this problem. Firstly, basic
money management skills could be included as a compulsory subject for students in their high school
years, which would help equip them with the knowledge and skills to manage their own personal
finances when they leave school, move out of home and enter employment. The second possible step
that could be taken to help curb this problem is through education at home. Parents need to take
responsibility to make sure that their children are adequately educated in such matters to ensure their
children maintain a successful and independent financial situation after graduating and leaving home.
In conclusion, although money management is a problem for a lot of school leavers, there are a number
of viable solutions to counteract this problem.