Computers have been used more and more in the classroom. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technology plays a crucial role in our lives, especially in education. In particular, setting up computers in learning and teaching has become more and more popular. From my point of view, this trend has pros and cons yet the positive sides far exceed the negative sides.

It is said that using computers in classrooms could lead to a lot of distractions, such as: computer games, social networking sites and age-inappropriate contents, which negatively affect students’ concentration in lectures. In the long run, what they would get is a poor academic performance. Adopting this method is also a challenge for teachers to handle the classes because in most countries, class size is so big that teachers are unable to control students’ behavior. Furthermore, it is easy for students to find results on the Internet, which forms a bad habit and make them over-reliant on samples and answers online.

Nevertheless, I believe that the benefits are more significant than drawbacks. To begin with, computers provide teachers with a lot of visual aids, for example: vibrant and colorful pictures, slide shows and videos, which make their lectures more interesting. The most important thing is that this will trigger students’ excitement and help to improve their study results. Another possible advantage is that there are opportunities for students to learn and practice some skills that will be useful for their future job. For instance, being more proficient in typing, using Microsoft Office and other applications.

In conclusion, operating computers at school is a double-edged sword yet I believe the upside outweighs the downside. Therefore, schools should take advantage of this to make curriculum more effective and enjoyable.