Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements form competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

The increase of commercial advertisements result from fierce competition in the market and the impacts of this trend remain a source of controversy. While I contend that these advertisements exert negative effects on the audience in some cases, I would also believe some certain resolutions should be taken to prevent this from occurring.

There are two compelling reasons as to why I argue that customers often fall victim to companies’ advertising campaigns. First and foremost, make consumers have impulsive purchase especially in young expenditures. This is because not only do many large businesses often exaggerate the usefulness of their products but they can also employ celebrities in advertisements to associate their products or brand with a positive impression, which can persuade to make the purchase decision regardless of their true needs. Furthermore, advertisements are the culprit of bombarding consumers’ life in diverse forms from mass media to billboards. To explain, Although citizens can acquire new information about companies’ products, they may distract from other essential aspects of their life.

Some effective measures should be adopted to preserve customers. From the perspective of governments, authorities should Impose strict censorship on commercials. If this process is stringent enough, all the extracts that contain any form of exaggeration must be taken out before advertisements are published. Regarding customers, they should have self-protection. For example, taking our real needs into account and finding out detailed information about commodities may help them to make the right decision of purchase.

To sum up, consumers have been suffered from some undesirable effects of advertising campaigns such as allocating money on unnecessary items or being annoyed. However, these problems can be solved by definite actions, including producing stringent law in advertisements and having the self-preservation of customers.