The consumption of the world’s resources (oil, and water etc.) is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are causes and solutions?

It is true that the exploitation of world’s resources, such as oil, water, and etc, has been rising excessively at an alarming rate. There appear to be two main causes of this trend, and several possible solutions, which I will explain below.

Regarding the causes, perhaps, the main cause of this situation is related to competition between all nations, particularly developed countries, in the world. They may have been making sacrifice invaluable resources to gain the supreme positions in terms of finance and avoid the financial dependence on other nations. This is clearly reflected in China, which have consumed excessively such natural resources as wood, oil, and water, hence they could become one of the most powerfully wealthy nations, regardless of catastrophic impacts they exert on nature including natural resource exhaustion and severely environmental depletion. The second probable cause is that the combination of low awareness from the citizens and the lax of regulations from the government have contributed to the exhaustion of natural resources in many areas. For example, in the middle highland of Vietnam which used to lush with countless species of trees, the forest has now been bare due to this reason.

Turning to the potential solutions, probably the main remedy is that the government officials should coordinate the international policies which could promote mutual understanding among nations throughout the world. As a result, they would not compete in either economic or military aspect. The second possible solution is related to the raising the awareness of citizens about the importance of preserving and protecting the world’s resources. This can be done by organizing educational programs or school activities.

In summary, the world natural resources have been overexploited by many factors and it can be bridged by the aforementioned methods.