Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

People have different views about the influences of the increasing similarity between nations caused by the available access to by the same products all over the world. While the change is probably beneficial, I believe that it could also have several detrimental effects on the international socio-economic development

On the one hand, the phenomenon could have several benefits. As countries in the world have been considered a global village, global citizens generally have more varied options as well as have their quality of life enhanced. For example, these days, people generally find it unnecessary to travel to Japan to try Japanese sushi anymore, because there are a variety of restaurants within their cities able to provide the cuisine made by original Japanese cooks. Besides, the significant increase in the number of multinational businesses could result in a higher employment rate.

On the other hand, globalization might bring numerous considerable disadvantages. Firstly, countries are likely to encounter the risk of losing their cultural identity. Youngsters nowadays seemingly listen to the same kinds of pop music, wear the same styles of trendy fashion. Therefore, traditional customs seem to get less attention compared to the past and they are going to be possibly faded in the foreseeable future. Secondly, the change could cause declines in tourism numbers, causing a huge loss for the industry. It seems to be monotonous eating the same specialties and buying the same products when traveling and travelers would find places they visit appear to be indistinguishable to the previous destinations they have been.

In conclusion, despite the possible merits to improve quality of life, I strongly argue that globalization could cause serious disadvantages to the socio-economy of the world.