As countries have developed, there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.

Why does this happen? How does this affect society?

In modern world, many people tend to have a smaller family than in the past. This essay will give some explanations on this trend as well as its impacts on communities.

There are several reasons why a family has fewer people these days. The principal cause is the increased cost of living, especially in developed and developing countries. In fact, the last few decades has experienced a significant rise in the life expense, such as cost of education, healthcare and transportation. Therefore, many people choose to have fewer members in their own family in order to light great financial burden. Another cause of this is the common trend of living alone. A great number of people, especially young generation, prefer to lead an alone life so that they can fully enjoy their life without any disturbance and feel a sense of freedom, which is the reason why a smaller family is more popular to young people than an extended one.

The trend of smaller families can bring about several beneficial impacts on community as follows. Firstly, in smaller households, the quality of life is likely to be considerably improved. People are less stressed by daily expenses such as electricity bills and parents have the greater ability to provide their children with better education, medical services, and the like, which can result in great social development. Secondly, on the societal level, smaller families may lead to a reduction in overpopulation. This will help to reduce poverty and social crimes such as pickpocketing and corruption, which can benefit densely populated countries, for example, India and Congo.

In conclusion, there are a number of factors leading to smaller family sizes and a variety of positive aspects on society. Therefore, people should take this lifestyle into consideration for their own sake.