Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Fundamentally, it is invalid to achieve economic success by lengthening working time. Many people consider the main impetus of high GDP growth is that workers keep manufacturing goods and providing services as long as possible. In fact, however, domestic consumption may play a more essential role in this matter. According to a research conducted by economists, countries whose people do not consume products and services in short time usually suffer from economic crisis, because companies and factories cannot earn their money back to maintain production or invest on new projects. Therefore, based on the reality that the longer working time people have, the less time and motivation they will go outside to patronize local businesses, such assertion is probably not as effective as supporters of having a long average working time anticipate.

Another reasons why a long average working time will not promise successful economy is that these countries will finally find themselves lacking enough competent workers to develop. In modern world, the economic success of a country depends on whether it has sufficient skilled labour force to develop science and technology. It is not difficult for us to notice that mechanization gradually replace handwork, which even people with little education are competent to deal with, and countries whose workforce lacks expertise or good education are very likely to undergo high unemployment rate, not to mention developing economy. Therefore, considering the fact that a long average working time will deprive people of time to improve themselves or educate their children, such assertion is unconvincing.