Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that countries should aim to supply their citizens with all the food domestically and reduce the importation of food. Personally, I strongly disagree with this idea because of some reasons which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin, it is impossible for countries to provide their residents with all the food they need. Firstly, each country is different in geographic location and weather conditions. For example, European countries can not provide their people with rice products domestically as they are not in area where rice can grow and develop. Moreover, some countries don’t have enough workers to work in agricultural area.

At the same time, importation can bring a lot of benefits for countries. With the development of transportation and technology, citizens can now enjoy the dishes and food from other countries with cheaper and easier way. For instance, people from Europe countries can enjoy the fruit from tropical areas such as mangoes and pineapples. If there was no importation of food, there would be a limitation of food choice. In addition, the trade between countries all over the worlds can allocate the resources effectively. In specific, countries which have advantages in geographic and climate conditions can focus on agricultural production, while other countries can continue focusing on manufactoring industries and technology. Therefore, this can benefit all countries around the world and diversify the global economy.

In conclusion, it would be impossible for countries to supply their residents with all the food from around the world because of the difference in geographic conditions and limitation of employees. Meanwhile, I believe importation can bring advantages for countries with variety of food choice and effective allocation of resources.